■ Reverse Lookup Q&A ■

 

 

Q I was rotating around with the camera and lost track of which way I'm facing.

A Double-click in camera state. It faces front. Alt + double-click is convenient.

 

Q While moving with the camera, the object went somewhere!

A Do Full Range Zoom. The object should appear. Shortcut is A.

 

Q I want to work partially, but when I rotate the camera the object goes somewhere and I can't work.

A Do Selected Point Zoom. The viewpoint centers on the selected items. Shortcut is Shift + A.

 

Q I want to face exactly sideways or straight back.

A After roughly aligning the direction, single-click in camera state. Alt + single-click is convenient.

 

Q Selecting fine parts is troublesome...

A After selecting a part, perform Continuous Select to select all at once. Shortcut is ].

 

Q Sometimes I want to select lines all at once on cylinders etc. Is there a good way?

A After selecting a line, perform [Continuous Line Select] to select all at once. Shortcut is L.

 

Q Can't I extend?

A After selecting the place you want to extend, you can do it with Move + Ctrl or Scale + Ctrl, etc.

 

Q When range selecting, points on the back that I don't want to select also get selected.

A First hide the points you don't want to select with [Process] > [Hide], then select.

 

Q Can I slice?

A By dragging while holding Alt + Shift in an empty area, you can slice.

 

Q Even if I slice, only points are created; can't I get lines?

A If you slice after applying faces, lines are also created.

 

Q When I create a point on a line, all quadrilateral polygons become triangular polygons. Can't something be done?

A If you split into two with a slice, it can be split into a state of two quadrilateral polygons.

 

Q I want to turn triangular polygons into quadrilateral polygons.

A Adjacent triangular polygons become a quadrilateral polygon by selecting [Quadrangulate] on the toolbar and clicking the line. If you want to quadrangulate many at once, after selecting faces choose [Edit] > [Quadrangulate].

 

Q Even if I quadrangulate it doesn't become a quadrilateral polygon?

A If it would become concave when made into a quad, if the polygons have different palettes, if UVs differ, or if normals differ, it is not quadrangulated. Make the palettes the same, align normals, clear UV, etc. before executing.

 

Q I don't know which way the normals are facing.

A Uncheck [Display] > [Double-Sided Display].

 

Q I want to apply separate faces on both sides sharing vertices?

A It is designed so that 3DAce cannot do that. If you really want double-sided, copy and paste the part you want double-sided, then without merging vertices flip the normals.

 

Q Every time I fill faces, faces are created inside, so it's troublesome to delete the unwanted faces each time.

A Once apply the dummy face (the rightmost on the palette) to the place where faces would be created inside.

 

Q After filling faces etc., the face normals are all over the place; do I have to flip them one by one?

A Select [Fill Faces] > [Unify Normals].

 

Q I unified normals but the whole thing is flipped.

A After selecting the part you want to flip with [Edit] > [Continuous Select], select [Fill Faces] > [Flip Normals].

 

Q I unified normals but there are parts that are not unified, or the face direction changes every time I unify.

A After deleting extra faces with [Edit] > [Select Three-Line Faces], try [Fill Faces] > [Unify Normals].

 

Q I was making something with symmetric points, but I want to make it asymmetric.

A Select the part where you want to stop symmetric points and choose [Process] > [Release Symmetric Points].

 

Q I was making something partially with independent points, but now I want to make it symmetric.

A Select the place you want as symmetric points and choose [Process] > [Create Symmetric Points].

 

Q The face colors have become messy, so I want to delete only the faces for now.

A After selecting faces, perform [Fill Faces] > [Delete Faces Only].

 

Q Sometimes the object is strangely darker than the palette colors?

A When specular display is off and double-sided display, if normals are flipped this happens, so try flipping normals with [Flip Normals].

 

Q When I turn on smoothing display, it becomes strangely bumpy.

A Try unifying normals with [Unify Normals].

 

Q Even after unifying normals, when I turn on smoothing display it still feels bumpy.

A Increase the smoothing angle, or in options set display that does not use smoothing angle.

 

Q The axis handles are in the way and annoying.

A Uncheck [Display] > [Axis Handle Display].

 

Q I want to completely erase the lines I hid.

A Uncheck [Display] > [Hidden Line Display].

 

Q I want to take a screenshot, but the grid is in the way.

A Uncheck [Display] > [Grid Display].

 

Q I want to take a screenshot, but dummy faces are also in the way.

A Uncheck [Display] > [Dummy Face Display].

 

Q I want to change a palette color.

A Double-click the part of the palette color you want to change.

 

Q Can I swap palette colors?

A You can swap with right-click drag.

 

Q I want to copy a palette color.

A Color copy can be done with right-click + Ctrl drag.

 

Q I only want to change the order of the palette?

A You can change only the order with right-click + Shift drag.

 

Q Can I copy the palette to another window?

A Yes. In the source window do [Others] > [Copy Palette], in the destination window do [Others] > [Paste Palette].

 

Q I want to apply a texture; how do I do it?

A Double-click the palette to set the texture file, then actually apply the texture to faces from [Window] > [UV Projection].

 

Q What files can be used for texture files?

A BMP GIF PNG JPG TGA PSD MAG IFF.

 

Q I set translucent in the palette but it doesn't become translucent.

A Set to [Display] > [Alpha Punch (Translucent)].

 

Q I set the smoothing angle in the palette but it doesn't seem to be reflected?

A Set it in [Options] > [System Settings].

 

Q The smoothing processing during move etc. feels strange.

A In [Options] > [System Settings] you can set so that smoothing is applied even during move. Be careful as processing becomes heavier.

 

Q When I start it, an empty window appears every time and is in the way.

A You can set it in [Options] > [System Settings].

 

Q The square that is there from the beginning every time I open a new window is in the way.

A You can set it in [Options] > [System Settings].

 

Q I can't memorize the toolbar Shortcuts.

A You can display the Shortcuts with [Help] > [Display Shortcuts Table], so try using it until you memorize them.

 

Q With scale, I only want to scale on 2 axes.

A Press the Shift key while scaling. Be careful that if you press Shift from the beginning it becomes quick copy.

 

Q I want to rotate at proper angles!

A Pressing the Shift key while rotating allows rotating in 15-degree increments. Be careful that if you press Shift from the beginning it becomes quick copy.

 

Q When applying Create Pipe to a line that goes all the way around, there are twisted parts.

A It can happen depending on the shape, but it is not a program problem; it is due to the shape, so please work around it skillfully.

 

Q Can I assign Shortcut keys myself?

A You can assign them to the menu and toolbar parts.

 

Q I assigned Shortcut keys to the menu but they are not displayed in the menu?

A It happens when special keys are assigned. The assignment is actually performed.

 

Q Can I create primitives?

A The number of divisions is fixed, but you can create them from [Window] > [Primitives Display].

 

Q When I applied UV with face projection in UV Projection, they are applied all over the place?

A At present it simply applies to faces so that happens. If possible in the future I plan to support it.

 

Q After applying a texture I can't edit UV?

A At present UV editing is not possible. I plan to support it in the future.

 

Q I want to do move etc. with numeric input...

A You can do it from [Window] > [Numeric Input].

 

Q Can I change the pivot position for scale etc.?

A You cannot specify arbitrarily, but with [Others] > [Switch Pivot Position] you can switch between the two of point centroid and center.

 

Q Can I place background images?

A Yes. You can place different images for each of the X, Y, Z axes.

 

Q I placed a background image, but the background image is too close and kind of in the way...

A You can move it farther by changing the depth in [Window] > [Background Image].

 

Q Can I move the background image?

A You can move it with Shift + middle button drag.

 

Q Can I scale the background image?

A You can scale it with Shift + left button drag.

 

Q When I move the background image all background images move, but can't I move them individually?

A At present you cannot move them individually.