PC turns on, but the screen never comes up

edited May 2018 in Hardware

Whenever I try to turn my PC, it turns on correctly, the ventilator spins and all that stuff. But the hard drive activity light doesn't turn on and the screen never comes up. I determined a few things:
The problem isn't on the power supply, because it would never turn on otherwise.
I think the problem isn't in the hard drive, because if the hard drive went bad, the BIOS screen should come up to then boot to whatever it boots to when the hard drive doesn't work.
So I think the problem is on the BIOS chip or on the CMOS battery (which seems unlikely, considering the BIOS screen doesn't come up)
I am not interested on the computer itself, cause I was planning to get a new one anyway.
But I am only interested on the hard drive's contents, cause there are some pretty valuable stuff on there, specially in partition "D:" , where I have a lot of OSes and stuff. I am 16 and I have no experience on disassembling computers whatsoever. What should I do?

Comments

• edited May 2018

It sounds likely to be something related to the motherboard. Since I know nothing about the current computer, if you are getting another computer anyway, I think it might be best to buy a hard drive adapter. You'll need to know whether the hard drive is IDE or SATA. If it's relatively recent it should be SATA.

Set up the new computer, put the drive in the adapter, plug the adapter into the computer and transfer your files over. It should show up just like a flash drive.

If the old computer and the new computer are from the same vendor and relatively close in the same model line, you may be able to just put the old hard drive into the new computer and update drivers, but I generally wouldn't suggest it. Windows 10 would also probably complain about the hardware changing.