Install ubuntu-6.10

edited March 2007 in Software
System Specs
Dell Dimension V350
Intel PII 350 Mhz
96 MB Ram
10 GB Harddrive
CD-Rom
I downloaded ubuntu-6.10. How do i install it? I burned all the files to a cd useing nero. I burned it as data CD. I had winrar thats how i extracted the files to another folder. Now i got iso buster. Im new to Linux and want to try it how do i install anything else i need? I downloaded the one that was for less than 192 MB.

Comments

• You'll be waiting a loooooooooooong time for it to install.
  • If you extracted the files to a folder and wrote THAT to a CD, it wont boot. You have to use Nero to burn the ISO as a "disc image". If you extract and burn, the CD wont have any boot sector and will NOT load or install.

-Q
  • BOD wrote:
    You'll be waiting a loooooooooooong time for it to install.
    Well it can be installing tomorrow while im at work for 8 hours im gone about 10 hours.
  • Woah, *Ubuntu* on 96MB of RAM? I hate to say it, but you are better off getting Xubuntu which is designed for a bit slower system. No difference, but minor cosmetic changes (which are the only apparent change mainly)
  • Ubuntu is the coolest and user-friendly linux bulids ever since I first-runned this exellent linux I have noticed that it`s will the linux for me!!!! (To consider I hate linux) :P

It`s Orange and Vista Aero style cursor Rocks.. I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE THAT IS STARTING WITH LINUX WORLD.... :) for that reason ubuntu is the most used in the world (according to an linux website)

P.S: it no have crap apps In comparison of other linux distros, it have only the nessesary to run :)
  • Except that it will crush the system that he wants to install it on. 96MB = not enough. I think even 2000 is pushing it on that thing.
  • It wouldn't crush it if he uses the console, lol.

Setting Gnome up on that though is death to your computer. Unless its some older version of Gnome.