Installing Microsoft Word 95

edited January 2013 in Software
I am new to installing this type of software. How do I install the .img files to make the program work as it should. I like the old software programs because they were smaller and simple to use. I would like to install Word 95 on a W2k laptop.

Comments

• the .img files are floppy images, so you need to write the each of image's content to a floppy.
  • We've always suggested here forever to use the program winImage for floppy disk images. That program will be able to write those images to a floppy. Now theoretically, you could extract all the .img files into a single folder and burn it onto a cd, using that to install word if you don't have a floppy drive on your main computer. I know that works with Windows 3.11 and some of the older versions of office.
  • noone wrote:
    Now theoretically, you could extract all the .img files into a single folder and burn it onto a cd, using that to install word if you don't have a floppy drive on your main computer. I know that works with Windows 3.11 and some of the older versions of office.

I can confirm that this works, however you will need to modify the WRD95.INF file to tell it where to find the cab files. I used the Word 95 archive from WinWorld and used 7zip to extract everything. I was able to successfully install Word 95 in a 95 VM I had kicking around.

It's easy enough to do this on your own, but as I already made the ISO, it seems silly not to share it. Let me know a place and I can upload it.
  • I really appreciate all the help and suggestions! I now have MS Office 97 Professional running on my T22 Laptop running W2k PRO.