Would like to submit software

edited December 2015 in Software
I have been collecting software titles since 1982 and recently went through them all to see what I have and how much of it still can be read from the disks.

I ran across your site when I went searching for PFS: First Choice. I have the manual for v.3.1 but could not locate the disks. While here I notice that I have some titles that you do not and wondered if I might upload them.

I'll need a little guidance as to what format these files should have: Do you want disk images or zipped compilations? Is there a preferred tool for creating either?

Thanks for your reply.
Charles Hudson
Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Comments

• IMO, full dumped floppy disk or cd/dvd image is prefered if possible, as contribution guide says
  • For non copy-protected disks in standard 360K/720K/1.2m/1.44mb formats we typically prefer sector images of the entire disk. These can be generated by a number of different tools. WinImage is a common tool for that job. Just be sure to write-protect the disks, as some OSes have a nasty habit writing to them when you don't expect it.

For non-copy protected 160K, 180K, 320K and some 360K images we often use ImageDisk because WinImage chokes on those formats.

Similarly, any non-PC disks that can be read in a PC system (such as TRS-80 and many CP/M formats) should be in ImageDisk format.

For copy protected PC disks, you will at minimum need to try and use CopyIIPC + Snatchit, although hardware tools such as a Central Point Deluxe Option Board/Transcopy, SuperCard Pro, or Kryoflux may be needed.

We also appreciate any manual submissions, although I know those are a hassle to scan in.

Thanks for choosing WinWorld!
  • Just to add on to your post, ImageDisk also supports many compression schemes since it preserves interleaving, among several other areas of the disk that WinImage doesn't touch.