Why I like Windows 3.1

edited September 2017 in Software
As you may know, having a fully working system that is period appropriate for Windows 3.1 (like my 486 machine that died, and the Acer Acros I have now) is something that is very important for me.

But why?

I'm not exactly sure, to be frank.

Windows 3.x is the last version before Windows 95, which changed a lot of things about the way Windows looks, and works.

Windows 3.x is the last version to run on a real version of Dos, while Windows 95 and 98 do have a version of DOS technically underneath them, it's a bastardised version, and not what I would call "true DOS".

Windows 9x and above, may well be easier to use, but as a hobbyist, I'm not looking for ease of use, I am looking for experiencing things, I haven't for a while, or haven't at all.

Give n that I wasn't born until 1995, Windows 9x is the first Windows version I have used, and I have never actually used for every-day-use, Windows 3.x or older.

The first Windows I used was definitely 9x, though I don't now if 95 or 98, but I remember a grey UI, Winamp, and the boot logo with the clouds and the old Windows logo, and it was running on a beige tower pc with a CRT, this was back in the townhouse I lived in as a small child.

I think the fact that I never actually got to use Windows 3.1 and that it's the last Windows version to be truly tied to DOS is what makes me like it soo much.

I also like the way it looks, and the fact that it was the first version of Windows capable of Multimedia starting with Windows 3.0 with Multimedia Extensions.

It represents a leap in Windows, and is a clear and interesting stepping stone between Windows 1.x and 2.x and Windows 9.x

Comments