DVD playable film?

QQ
edited December 2004 in Hardware
OK, I'm filing this under Hard support because I figure this is sortof hardware related.

Now, mind you, I'm a newbie when it comes to this...

I have a video file, AVI or MPG, and I want to get it on a disc (CD or DVD) so that a DVD player can play it. How do I do this? I've never tried before so I don't know, and I don't want to make like 15 coasters before I figure out I overlooked some minor option that I should've known about.

-Q

Comments

• im not sure but doesnt the infamous windows movie maker give you ability to import that sort of media in and burn in on a cd or dvd, if not can a dvd player just pick up media, can you just burn it on with some burning prog?
  • use nero's video disc option, might take a while to encode it but then again i was using a 233 at the time
  • im not sure but doesnt the infamous windows movie maker give you ability to import that sort of media in and burn in on a cd or dvd, if not can a dvd player just pick up media, can you just burn it on with some burning prog?

I hate the Windows Movie maker now, when I burn 1 cd, tried to play it in each of my 5 DVD players in the house, MS recorded it in some crazy was, so I wasn't able to play it back, so then I used Nero'svideo cd burning thing, and it worked in 4 of 5 of my dvd players
  • So, how exactly am I supposed to do this? Select "Make Video CD" and then...?

-Q
  • Here, this will help you.

And thrash metal still sucks... but Pantera, didn't they like stop being like in the eightees?
  • Get TMPGEncoder... http://tmpgenc.net...

Then encode the avi into an NTSC MPG.

Then, use Nero to burn the VCD and you're set.
  • OK I'll try this later tonight and list all the steps followed to create the VCD. I tried doing it and get errors when attempting to play it.

-Q
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Instead of making a VCD, why not make a DVD from it?