PDFs

QQ
edited March 2007 in Software
Does anyone know of a PDF reader other then crackrobat for Windows? I just realized I need it, but it always seemed SO bloated and slow.

-Q

Comments

• Just download Acrobat 5.0? I use it on the laptop. Way faster than 8!
  • Cool! So far that one seems to be great! You can ditch that stupid Crackrobat ad in the upper right corner!

-Q
  • I don't see an Ad in teh corner of my window :|
  • Foxit is what I use to, I can't stand all that racket ABAT makes
    just starting up. I've been using it for a few months and put it on
    the machine I sent to my Mom.

Thump
  • http://schmidt.devlib.org/java/libraries-pdf.html
    Here's a whole list. Try this for previous adobe versions:
    http://oldversion.com/program.php?n=acrobat

I hope this helps

alexzarach
  • I think reading a PDF under Java would be nearly as bad as reading it with Acrobat!

-Q
  • Use acrobat reader 2 from the second link, or any other old version on that page. It may be quicker-I haven't tried any before acrobat reader 3.
  • Yeah but alot of PDFs use formatting codes that aren't supported by old versions of Acrobat. I've never had problems with FoxIt.

• adobe acrobat 7.0 ;)
  • anantha92 wrote:
    adobe acrobat 7.0 ;)
    Adobe acrobat 7.0 IS SLOW!
  • I think I'm running 8. Whatever the newest is.
  • I use Acrobat Reader 5 on all my slower PCs and 7 on my Athlon64.

I find Version 5 to be the best for slower PCs or for fast performance on faster PCs.
    Nick
  • Adobe acrobat 8 in my AthlonXP 2000+, but for older you might try Adobe Acrobat 3 or 4... :)
  • The annoying ones encrypt the PDFs so you can only open them in 6 and up!

-Q
  • Q wrote:
    The annoying ones encrypt the PDFs so you can only open them in 6 and up!

-Q
    other thing.... oohh holy shitty soft and hard limitations :) (it remembers my obsolete 3 year machine :cry: )
  • 8 isn't slow by any means. And has the least retarded gui of them all :|.