Upgrading a GTS 450 on the cheap

edited September 2015 in Hardware
My main desktop has a single 1GB Gigabyte GTS 450 card which has served me well over the years. The remaining specs of the machine are that it has an i5 2550K CPU, 16GB DDR3, 128GB SSD, and 2TB WD drive using a 750W power supply. I'm looking at reusing this card into my i3 machine I also have as it currently is only using the Intel graphics. Although I'd be keen building a new machine, it's not a pressing priority and money is going elsewhere at the moment.

I've been looking around on eBay for a cheap upgrade to get a decent boost (say around $100) and attempting some comparisons using game-debate.com. So far I've concluded that a new GT 720 card despite being years apart isn't worth it from what I can tell, thus looking at alternatives. I've seen a couple of 768MB GTX 460s together for sale at $120, and a single 2GB GTX 560 for the same price. I've never tried SLI before but I'd be interested if the cards and price were reasonable. The 750W PS should be sufficient for SLI with the above though.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• I have a second hand 2GB GT 610 that I bought for $30. It does me well.

You're probably looking for something better though.
  • My GT 420 is a dream compared to my last two cards. Had a GeForce 7200 then to a GTX 220 and not the GT 420.
  • I recommend using the site GPUBoss to get a rough idea of performance compared to your current card.

When I compared the GTS 450 to my Radeon 5870, the 5870 pulls ahead just barely. I actually had a GTS 450 a bit under a year ago and it was a decent card, ran most games without difficulty. Translated, it's still not a terrible card and finding an upgrade with significant performance gains within your budget isn't very likely.